Maryland Manual On-Line -



[photo, John R. Griffin, Secretary of Natural Resources] JOHN R. GRIFFIN, Secretary of Natural Resources

Office of Secretary
Department of Natural Resources
Tawes State Office Building, 580 Taylor Ave., Annapolis, MD 21401 - 2397
(410) 260-8100; fax: (410) 260-8111; tty: (410) 260-8835

Secretary of Natural Resources, March 17, 1995 to July 23, 1999 and since March 15, 2007. Acting Secretary of Natural Resources, January 17, 2007 to March 15, 2007. Deputy Secretary, Department of Natural Resources, 1984-95.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2007-; Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2007-; BayStat Subcabinet, 2008-. Chair, Governor's Council on the Chesapeake Bay (Governor's Chesapeake Bay Cabinet), 2007-; Rural Legacy Board, 2007-; Scenic and Wild Rivers Review Board, 2007-. Co-Chair, Baltimore Washington Partners for Forest Stewardship, 2007-; Executive Committee for Dredged Material Management Plans, 2007-. Member, Governor's Intergovernmental Commission for Agriculture, 2007-; Maryland Agricultural Education and Rural Development Assistance Board, 2007-; Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee, 2007-; Blue Crab Task Force, 2007-; Chesapeake Bay Commission, 2007-; Chesapeake Bay Trust, 2007-; Maryland Clean Car and Energy Policy Task Force, 2007-; Climate Change Commission, 2007- (chair, adaptation & response working group, 2007-); Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2007-; Maryland Green Building Council, 2007-; Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2007-; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 2007-; Task Force on Minority Participation in the Environmental Community, 2007; Patuxent River Commission, 2007-; Pesticide Advisory Committee, 2007-; Potomac River Fisheries Commission, 2007-; Rural Maryland Council, 2007-; Seafood Marketing Advisory Committee, 2007-; State Soil Conservation Committee, 2007-; Transportation Enhancements Program Executive Committee, 2007-; Maryland War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission, 2007-. Board of Directors, Maryland Agricultural and Resource-Based Industry Development Corporation, 2007-. Co-Chair, Maryland Partnership for Children in Nature, 2008-. Member, All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) Safety Task Force, 2008-09; Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee, 2008-.

Member, Task Force to Study the Boating Industry in Maryland, 2007-08; Advisory Committee on the Management and Protection of the State's Water Resources (2005), 2007-08; Working Waterfront Commission, 2007-08.

Committee Staff Director, Prince George's County Council, 1972-78 (director of legislative & budgetary affairs for standing committee).

Executive Assistant, Office of the Governor, 1979-83.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 1995-99; Chesapeake Bay Commission, 1995-99; Chesapeake Bay Trust, 1995-99; Maryland Civil War Heritage Commission, 1995-99; Governor's Executive Committee on Drunk and Drugged Driving, 1995; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 1995-99; Governor's Pesticide Council, 1995-99; Seafood Marketing Advisory Committee, 1995-99; Governor's Commission on Service and Volunteerism (formerly Governor's Commission on Service), 1995-99; State Soil Conservation Committee, 1995-99; Transportation Enhancements Program Executive Committee, 1995-99. Chair, Governor's Council on the Chesapeake Bay, 1995-99; Scenic and Wild Rivers Review Board, 1995-99. Co-Chair, Maryland Greenways Commission, 1995-99. Member, Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 1996-99; Smart Growth and Neighborhood Conservation Subcabinet, 1998-99.

General Manager, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission, 1999-2004.

Co-Chair, Environment and Natural Resources Work Group, Governor-elect's Transition Team, 2006-07.

Born in Rochester, New York, April 25, 1946. Niagara University, B.A. (psychology & sociology), 1969; The Catholic University of America, M.A. (social work), 1972. Associate Vice-President and Regional Manager for Maryland and Virginia, Buchart-Horn, Inc., 2005-07. Vice-President, Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology (advisory council). Chair, Scenic Maryland. Board of Directors, Annapolis Community Foundation. Distinguished Service Award, Maryland Municipal League, 1982; Distinguished Service Award, National Governors' Association, 1984. Conservation Leadership Award, Conservation Fund, 1998. Conservationist of the Year, Chesapeake Bay Foundation, 1998, 1999. Married; five children.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 01, 2009 Maryland State Archives