Maryland Manual On-Line - www.mdmanual.net

DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT

Shari T. Wilson, Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084
[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Robert M. Summers, Ph.D., Deputy Secretary (410) 537-4187
Stephen L. Pattison, Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3086
Susan B. Scotto, Director, Administrative & Employee Services Administration (410) 537-3537
George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director, Air & Radiation Management Administration (410) 537-3255
Richard A. Eskin, Ph.D., Director, Science Services Administration (410) 537-3572
Horacio A. Tablada, Director, Waste Management Administration (410) 537-3304
Jay G. Sakai, Director, Water Management Administration (410) 537-3567
Steven R. Johnson, Principal Counsel (410) 537-3049

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


  • Environmental emergencies & complaints: 1-866-MDE-GOTO (toll free, 24 hours); 1-866-633-4686 (toll free, 24 hours)

  • Agencies

    Budget

    Functions

    Historical Evolution

    Organizational Chart

    Organizational Structure

    Origin

    Reports


    ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

    OFFICE OF SECRETARY

    (U00A0101, formerly 39.01.01.01)
    FY2010 appropriation: $1,914,828; authorized positions: 16
    Shari T. Wilson, Secretary of the Environment (appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent) (410) 537-3084
    e-mail: stwilson@mde.state.md.us

    ASSISTANT SECRETARY

    Stephen L. Pattison, Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3086
    e-mail: spattison@mde.state.md.us

    ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A0202, formerly 39.01.02.02)
    FY2010 appropriation: $7,742,312; authorized positions: 43
    Susan B. Scotto, Director (410) 537-3116; fax: (410) 537-3740
    e-mail: sscotto@mde.state.md.us

    SCIENCE SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A0501, formerly 39.01.05.01)
    FY2010 appropriation: $14,425,019; authorized positions: 94
    Richard A. Eskin, Ph.D., Director (410) 537-3572; fax: (410) 537-3683
    e-mail: reskin@mde.state.md.us

    Marie C. Halka, Deputy Director (410) 537-3818
    e-mail: mhalka@mde.state.md.us

    DEPUTY SECRETARY

    Robert M. Summers, Ph.D., Deputy Secretary (410) 537-4187
    e-mail:
    bsummers@mde.state.md.us

    AIR & RADIATION MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A0701, formerly 39.01.07)
    FY2010 appropriation: $21,908,942; authorized positions: 173
    George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director (410) 537-3255
    e-mail: gaburn@mde.state.md.us
    web: www.mde.state.md.us/arma/Airqulty/airqual.html

    Angelo J. Bianca, Deputy Director (410) 537-3260
    e-mail: abianca@mde.state.md.us

    WASTE MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A06, formerly 39.01.06)
    FY2010 appropriation: $30,181,954; authorized positions: 216
    Horacio A. Tablada, Director (410) 537-3304
    e-mail: htablada@mde.state.md.us
    web: www.mde.state.md.us/land/land_programs/index.asp

    Mitch McCalmon, Deputy Director (410) 537-3304
    e-mail: mmccalmon@mde.state.md.us

    WATER MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A04, formerly 39.01.04)
    FY2010 appropriation: $37,275,060; authorized positions: 329
    Jay G. Sakai, Director (410) 537-3567
    e-mail: jsakai@mde.state.md.us
    web: www.mde.state.md.us/water/water_programs/index.asp

    Virginia F. Kearney, Deputy Director (410) 537-3145
    e-mail: vkearney@mde.state.md.us

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance


    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual
    e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

    July 1, 2009   
    Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

    The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact ref@mdsa.net if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.


    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright June 22, 2009 Maryland State Archives