Maryland Manual On-Line -



Karen J. Williams, Chief Judge, Virginia, 2010

Allyson K. Duncan, Circuit Judge, North Carolina
Roger L. Gregory, Circuit Judge, Virginia
Robert B. King, Circuit Judge, West Virginia
M. Blane Michael, Circuit Judge, West Virginia
Diana Gribbon Motz, Circuit Judge, Maryland
Paul V. Niemeyer, Circuit Judge, Maryland
Dennis W. Shedd, Circuit Judge, South Carolina
William B. Traxler, Jr., Circuit Judge, South Carolina
J. Harvie Wilkinson III, Circuit Judge, Virginia
five vacancies

Patricia S. Connor, Clerk

Lewis F. Powell, Jr., U.S. Courthouse Annex, 5th floor
1100 East Main St., Suite 501, Richmond, Virginia 23219 - 3517
(804) 916-2700

[photo, Thurgood Marshall statue, by Reuben Kramer, Garmatz Federal Courthouse, West Pratt St., Baltimore, Maryland] Garmatz Federal Courthouse
101 West Lombard St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2671
(410) 962-3606 (Judge Motz)
(410) 962-4210 (Judge Niemeyer)

Thurgood Marshall statue, by Reuben Kramer, Garmatz Federal Courthouse, West Pratt St., Baltimore, Maryland, April 2001. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

The United States Courts of Appeals are intermediate appellate courts. They were created in 1891 to relieve overcrowding of the U.S. Supreme Court docket. The appeals courts are empowered to review all decisions of federal district courts, certain special courts, and administrative bodies, except in those few instances where direct review by the U.S. Supreme Court is mandated.

Under the United States Court of Appeals are thirteen judicial circuits. The fourth judicial circuit includes Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. The Court sits at Richmond, Virginia, on the first full week of each month, October through June.

Fifteen judges sit on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. They are appointed for life terms by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the U.S. Senate. The judge with seniority who is under 65 years of age is designated Chief Judge. The Chief Judge may serve no longer than seven years. Traditionally, Maryland has had three judges on the Court.

Former Judges
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright January 10, 2008 Maryland State Archives