Maryland Manual On-Line -



Timothy M. Kaine, Governor of Virginia, Chair (chosen by Board in June, 1-year term), 2009

David S. Spence, Ph.D., President

592 10th St., NW, Atlanta, GA 30318 - 5776
(404) 875-9211; fax: (404) 872-1477

[photo, Maryland Higher Education Commission, 839 Bestgate Road, Annapolis, Maryland] Maryland members appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: James E. Lyons, Sr., Ph.D., 2009; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., 2010; Henry B. Heller, 2011; William E. Kirwan, Ph.D., 2012.

Ex officio: Martin J. O'Malley, Governor

c/o Maryland Higher Education Commission
839 Bestgate Road, Suite 400, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-4516; fax: (410) 974-3513; tty: 1-800-735-2258 (toll free)

Maryland Higher Education Commission, 839 Bestgate Road, Annapolis, Maryland, August 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

The Southern Regional Education Board is the nation's oldest interstate compact for higher education. The Board plans for the use of educational programs and facilities by its member states that enable them to multiply the benefits of cooperative efforts, while dividing costs. The Board operates under the Southern Regional Education Compact of 1949, which Maryland ratified in 1949 (Chapter 282, Acts of 1949). Fifteen other states have ratified the Compact.

Created at the request of southern political and education leaders, the Board brings together educators, government officials, and other regional leaders to advance education and thereby improve the social and economic life of its member states. Working directly with state governments, academic institutions, and other agencies, the Board conducts research and reports on needs, problems, and developments in education; coordinates cooperative programs to upgrade training in undergraduate, graduate, professional and technical education; and administers interstate arrangements for regional educational services and institutions. These reciprocal agreements provide quality education without developing expensive specialized programs in each state.

Sixteen states are Board members: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

The Board's governing body consists of eighty members. These include the governor and four others from each member state, one of whom must be a state legislator and one an educator. All are chosen by the governor for four-year terms (Code Education Article, secs. 25-201 through 25-205).

Interstate Agencies
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 19, 2009 Maryland State Archives