Maryland Manual On-Line -



John V. Cogbill III, J.D., Virginia, Chair (chosen by U.S. President)

Appointed by U.S. President to 6-year terms: Jose L. Galvez III, Maryland, 2009; Herbert F. Ames, South Carolina, 2011; John V. Cogbill III, J.D., Virginia, 2013.

Appointed by Mayor, District of Columbia, to 4-year terms: Arrington Dixon, J.D., 2011; Stacie Scott Turner, 2011.

Ex officio: Robert M. Gates, Ph.D., U.S. Secretary of Defense; Dirk Kempthorne, U.S. Secretary of the Interior; David L. Bibb, Acting Administrator of General Services; Joseph I. Lieberman, Chair, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, U.S. Senate; Henry A. Waxman, Chair, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, U.S. House of Representatives; Adrian M. Fenty, Mayor, District of Columbia; Vincent C. Gray, Chair, Council of District of Columbia.

Marcel C. Acosta, Executive Director

Market Square North Building, North Lobby, Suite 500
401 9th St. NW, Washington, DC 20004
(202) 482-7200; fax: (202) 482-7272

The National Capital Planning Commission originated in 1924 as the National Capital Park Commission. In 1926, it reformed as the National Capital Park and Planning Commission, and in 1952 assumed its present name.

The Commission provides planning guidance for federal land and buildings in the National Capital Region. The Region includes Prince George's County and Montgomery County in Maryland; Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun and Prince William counties in Virginia; and the District of Columbia.

To protect and enhance the historical, cultural and national resources of the nation's capital, the Commission sets planning policies and reviews development proposals.


Appointed by Commission Chair:
Jose L. Galvez III, Chair

The South Capitol Street Task Force organized in May 2004. The Task Force reported its findings and recommendations on the revitalization of the South Capitol Street Corridor in 2005. The Task Force last met in October 2005.

Interstate Agencies
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 27, 2008 Maryland State Archives