Maryland Manual On-Line -



Joe Manchin III, Governor of West Virginia, Chair (chosen by Commission in Nov., 1-year term)

Maryland member: Martin J. O'Malley, Governor (C. Edmon Larrimore, Administrator, Mining Program, Water Management Administration, Department of the Environment, alternate)

Gregory E. Conrad, Executive Director

445-A Carlisle Drive, Herndon, VA 20170 - 4819
(703) 709-8654; fax: (703) 709-8655

The Interstate Mining Compact Commission was created in April 1971 by the Interstate Mining Compact initiated by the Council of State Governments. To date, nineteen states have ratified the Compact; Maryland ratified in 1973 (Chapter 297, Acts of 1973). Member states include Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. The states of Alaska, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming are associate members.

The purposes of the Compact are to protect and restore land, water, and other resources affected by mining. The Commission assists in reducing the deterioration of land, water, and air attributable to mining and encourages programs to protect, conserve, and improve the usefulness of natural resources. The Commission also recommends techniques to improve, restore, or protect land and other resources affected by mining and helps support and maintain an efficient, productive mining industry.

The Commission is authorized to study mining operations, processes, and techniques, as well as conservation, adaptation, improvement, and restoration of land and related resources affected by mining. The Commission also may gather and diseminate information, make recommendations, and cooperate with public and private entities concerned with any subject within the purview of the Compact.

The nineteen governors of the states that have ratified the Compact compose the Commission. Each governor may name an alternate member. The Commission's annual budget for Fiscal Year 2007 is $430,700. The first half of the budget is assessed to each member state on an equal basis. The other half is pro-rated on the basis of the value of mineral production in the party states (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 7-701 through 7-703).

Interstate Agencies
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 23, 2007 Maryland State Archives