Maryland Manual On-Line -



[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Allen D. Biehler, Pennsylvania, Chair (chosen by Commission, 1-year term)
Shari T. Wilson, Maryland, Vice-Chair (chosen by Commission, 1-year term)

Maryland members appointed by Governor to 2-year terms: Shari T. Wilson, Secretary of the Environment, 2011 (Robert M. Summers, Ph.D., alternate, 2011); John M. Colmers, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene, 2011 (Clifford S. Mitchell, M.D., alternate, 2011).

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Contact: Edward C. Hammerberg

c/o Waste Management Administration
Dept. of the Environment, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230 - 1724
(410) 537-3345; fax: (410) 537-4133

In 1986, Maryland ratified the Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact (Chapter 33, Acts of 1986). Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia also have ratified the Compact. The Compact established the Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission to assure interstate cooperation for the proper management and disposal of low-level radioactive wastes.

The Commission identifies a host state (based on the volume and curie content of radioactive waste generated) to receive and dispose of radioactive waste from party states. Pennsylvania is currently the host state. Costs and benefits are distributed equitably among party states. Wastes generated outside the region may be banned by the Commission.

To reduce the volume of low-level radioactive waste, the Commission conducts research and recommends regulations. The Commission also prepares contingency plans in the event the regional facility is closed and enters into temporary agreements for emergency disposal.

Appointed by the governor, two members from each party state serve on the Commission, as do four members from the host state. The Commission provides for its own organization and procedures, by-laws, rules, and regulations (Code Environment Article, secs. 7-301 through 7-306). By resolution adopted in 1998, the chair of the Commission serves as Executive Director, and the vice-chair as Secretary/Treasurer.

The Commission's annual meeting is held in the autumn.

Interstate Agencies
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 26, 2009 Maryland State Archives