Maryland Manual On-Line -



[photo, United Fire Engine Company no. 3, 79 South Market St., Frederick, Maryland] Frederick County has twelve municipalities: Brunswick, Burkittsville, Emmitsburg, Frederick, Middletown, Mount Airy, Myersville, New Market, Rosemont, Thurmont, Walkersville, and Woodsboro. Frederick was the first locality to incorporate in Frederick County in 1816. It was followed by Emmitsburg (1824), Thurmont (1831), Middletown (1833), Woodsboro (1836), New Market (1878), Brunswick (1890), Walkersville (1892), Burkittsville (1894), Mount Airy (1894), Myersville (1904), and Rosemont (1953).

United Fire Engine Company no. 3, 79 South Market St., Frederick, Maryland, April 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, Town Hall, 39 West Main St., New Market, Maryland]

Town Hall, 39 West Main St., New Market, Maryland, November 2002. Photos by Diane F. Evartt.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 15, 2006 Maryland State Archives