Maryland Manual On-Line -



[photo, Public Safety Building, Cumberland, Maryland] Allegany County has seven municipalities: Barton, Cumberland, Frostburg, Lonaconing, Luke, Midland, and Westernport. Its county seat, Cumberland, is the oldest city, incorporated in 1815. Later, Frostburg formed its own government in 1839, Westernport in 1858, Lonaconing in 1890, Barton in 1900, Midland in 1900, and Luke in 1922.
  • Map of Urban Areas in Allegany County, 2000
  • Public Safety Building, Cumberland, Maryland, May 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

    July 1, 2009   
    Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

    The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright May 15, 2006 Maryland State Archives