Maryland Manual On-Line -




[photo, Sailboats docked on St. Leonard Creek, Calvert County, Maryland] Wayne E. Clark, Executive Director

P. O. Box 745
15045 Burnt Store Road, Hughesville, MD 20637 - 0745
(301) 274-1922; (301) 870-2520 (Washington, DC area)

A Southern Maryland scene: Sailboats docked on St. Leonard Creek, Calvert County, Maryland, May 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Gary V. Hodge, Chair (chosen by Council in Jan., 1-year term), 2009
Gerald W. Clark, 1st Vice-Chair
John L. Bohanan, Jr., 2nd Vice-Chair
Harry A. Shasho, 3rd Vice-Chair

Appointed by Southern Maryland Municipal Association: one vacancy

Ex officio (nonvoting): Christian S. Johansson, Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Richard E. Hall, Secretary of Planning.

Southern Maryland Senate Delegation: Roy P. Dyson; Thomas M. Middleton; Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.

Southern Maryland House of Delegates Delegation: John L. Bohanan, Jr.; Sally Y. Jameson; Sue Kullen; Murray D. Levy; Peter F. Murphy; Anthony J. O'Donnell; John F. Wood, Jr.

Board of County Commissioners: Gerald W. Clark; Linda L. Kelley; Wilson H. Parran; Susan Ellsworth Shaw; Barbara A. Stinnett.

At-Large: David F. Hale
Nonvoting: Maurice T. Lusby; Nathaniel Pope, Jr.

Board of County Commissioners: Reuben B. Collins; F. Wayne Cooper; Samuel N. Graves; Gary V. Hodge; Edith J. Patterson.

At-Large: Harry A. Shasho
Nonvoting: Raymond R. Detig; Marcia Keeth.

Board of County Commissioners: Kenneth R. Dement; Lawrence D. Jarboe; Thomas A. Mattingly, Sr.; Daniel H. Raley; Francis J. (Jack) Russell.

At-Large: Mary Lynn Stone
Nonvoting: Steven T. Reeves; Robert R. Schaller.

Formed on December 6, 1964, the Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland fosters the economic and social development of the southern Maryland counties (Calvert County, Charles County, & St. Mary's County). In 1965, the Governor recognized the Council as the cooperative planning and development agency for Southern Maryland. The Council was established by statute in 1966 and became a tax-exempt corporation in 1970 (Chapter 586, Acts of 1966; Chapter 573, Acts of 1970). The Council's enabling law was reenacted as State general legislation in 1976 (Chapter 708, Acts of 1976). In 1984, the status of the Council as an independent agency was confirmed (Chapter 373, Acts of 1984).

The Council brings together local, State and federal resources to address issues in economic development; environmental protection; and regional resource management, which includes transportation, utilities, urban growth and development, housing, and public facilities and services. Annually, the Council submits its proposed programs and operating budget for the next fiscal year to the Department of Business and Economic Development. At least every four years, the Council reevaluates the General Development Plan for Southern Maryland, following the election of State and local officials (Chapter 36, Acts of 1979).

Thirty-seven members make up the Council. Twenty-nine are voting members, and eight nonvoting (Code Economic Development Article, secs. 13-601 through 13-640).


Chosen by Council in Jan., 1-year term:
Gary V. Hodge, Chair
John L. Bohanan, Jr.; Gerald W. Clark; David F. Hale; Lawrence D. Jarboe; Sue Kullen; Peter F. Murphy; Harry A. Shasho; Mary Lynn Stone. Terms expire 2009.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 17, 2009 Maryland State Archives