Maryland Manual On-Line -


Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Council, 2-year term)

Elected by State's Attorneys for Central Maryland: Dario J. Broccolino, Esq.

Elected by State's Attorneys for Lower Eastern Shore: Davis R. Ruark, Esq.

Elected by State's Attorneys for Southern Maryland: Leonard C. Collins, Jr., Esq.

Elected by State's Attorneys for Upper Eastern Shore: Scott G. Patterson, Esq.

Elected by State's Attorneys for Western Maryland: Michael O. Twigg, Esq.

Ex officio: Douglas F. Gansler, Attorney General; Frank R. Weathersbee, Esq., State's Attorney, Anne Arundel County; Patricia C. Jessamy, Esq., State's Attorney, Baltimore City; Scott D. Shellenberger, Esq., State's Attorney, Baltimore County; John J. McCarthy, Esq., State's Attorney, Montgomery County; Glenn F. Ivey, Esq., State's Attorney, Prince George's County.

Ara M. Crowe, State's Attorneys' Coordinator

3300 North Ridge Road, Suite 185, Ellicott City, MD 21043
(410) 203-9881; fax: (410) 203-9891
e-mail: mdsaa@bellatlantic

The State's Attorneys' Coordination Council was created in 1977 (Chapter 710, Acts of 1977). The State's Attorney for each county and the City of Baltimore prosecutes and defends, on the part of the State, all cases in which the State may be interested (Code Criminal Procedure Article, sec. 15-102).

Appointed by the State's Attorneys' Coordination Council, the State's Attorneys' Coordinator establishes standard and specialized training programs and coordinates legal education programs and services for State's Attorneys and their professional staffs. With the approval of the Council, the Coordinator also implements uniform reporting procedures for State's Attorneys, and their staffs, and confers regularly with the Attorney General, the State's Attorney, and the Council. In addition, the Coordinator serves as a liaison between Maryland's State's Attorneys and local, State and federal law enforcement agencies and organizations.

In consultation with the State Board of Victim Services, the Council formulates regulations to administer the Victim and Witness Protection and Relocation Program (Code Criminal Procedure Article, sec. 11-902).

The State's Attorneys' Coordination Council is composed of eleven members. These include the Attorney General; and the State's Attorneys for Baltimore City, and Baltimore, Anne Arundel, Prince George's and Montgomery counties. Also serving on the Council are those State's Attorneys chosen by the State's Attorneys of their region to represent Central Maryland (Howard, Carroll, or Harford County); Southern Maryland (St. Mary's, Charles, or Calvert County); Western Maryland (Frederick, Washington, Allegany or Garrett County); the Upper Eastern Shore (Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne's, Caroline, or Talbot County); and the Lower Eastern Shore (Dorchester, Wicomico, Worchester or Somerset County) (Code Criminal Procedure Article, sec. 15-202).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 19, 2009 Maryland State Archives