Maryland Manual On-Line -


Catherine J. Boyne, Chair (chosen by Governor), 2009
[photo, St. Paul Plaza, 200 St. Paul Place, Baltimore, Maryland] Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Ruth E. Eger, 2003; Lennita Anderson-Selvey, 2005; Steven A. Levenson, M.D., 2009; Rev. John D. Mindling, 2009; Gail A. Barth Katz, 2010; Theodore L. Meyerson, 2010; Gloria C. Ramsey, R.N., J.D., 2010; Catherine E. Stavely, Esq., 2010; Timothy J. Keay, M.D., 2011; Karen S. Kauffman, Ph.D., 2012; Karren J. Pope-Onwukwe, 2012; Gail S. Mansell, 2012; Mary Lynn McPherson, Pharm.D., 2012; two vacancies.

Appointed by Senate President: Michael G. Lenett

Appointed by House Speaker: Barbara A. Frush

Ex officio: Paul J. Ballard, designee of Attorney General; Michael R. Lachance, designee of Secretary of Aging; Cari C. Watrous, designee of Secretary of Disabilities; Wendy A. Kronmiller, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene.

St. Paul Plaza, 200 St. Paul Place, Baltimore, Maryland, June 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Kathleen M. Izdebski

c/o Office of Attorney General
St. Paul Plaza, 200 St. Paul Place, Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 576-6327

In December 2002, the State Advisory Council on Quality Care at the End of Life was created (Chapter 265, Acts of 2002), and it reformed in October 2008 (Chapters 562 & 563, Acts of 2008). The Council advises the Office of the Attorney General, the Department of Aging, and the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. It also advises the General Assembly on changes in laws related to the provision of care at the end of life.

The impact of State statutes, regulations, and public policies on the care provided to the dying is studied by the Council. In 2005, for example, the Council studied issues concerned with establishing a statewide registry for advance health care directives. The Council also monitors trends in the provision of care to patients with fatal illnesses, and participates in public and professional educational efforts concerned with the care of the dying.

Twenty-two members compose the Council. Of these, sixteen are appointed by the Governor; one is chosen by the Senate President; one is named by the House Speaker; and four serve ex officio (Code Health-General Article, secs. 13-1601 through 13-1604).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 24, 2009 Maryland State Archives