Maryland Manual On-Line -


[photo, Jeffrey Building (right), State House in background, Annapolis, Maryland] c/o Governor's Appointments Office
Jeffrey Building., 5th floor, 16 Francis St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-2597

Jeffrey Building (right), Annapolis, Maryland, September 2001. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Chair: Martin J. O'Malley, Governor

Appointed by Governor: Susan C. Aldridge, Ph.D.; Richard J. Armbruster; Joann A. Boughman, Ph.D.; Eleanor M. Carey, Esq.; Robert L. Caret, Ph.D.; Peter F. Cevenini; James H. DeGraffenreidt, Jr.; Thomas G. Evans; Patricia S. Florestano, Ph.D.; Clara B. Floyd; Patricia S. Gordon; Hope R. Harrington; Alicia C. Hoffman; Nicholas P. Jones, Ph.D.; Katharine M. Oliver; Barbara Matin Palmer, Ph.D.; W. Stephen Pannill; George W. Reid, Ph.D.; Earl S. Richardson, Ed.D.; Stephen Rohde; Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D.; Mary Pat Seurkamp, Ph.D.; June E. Streckfus; Alvin Thornton, Ph.D.; Henry Clay Whitlow, Esq.

Ex officio: Christian S. Johansson, Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools; Thomas E. Perez, Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation; James E. Lyons, Sr., Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education; Kevin M. O'Keefe, Chair, Maryland Higher Education Commission; William E. Kirwan, Ph.D., Chancellor, University System of Maryland; Eric M. Seleznow, Executive Director, Governor's Workforce Investment Board; William G. Robertson, Chair, Governor's Workforce Investment Board.

Staff: Patricia A. Foerster

Annual Report to Governor.

The P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland was initiated by the Governor in October 2007 (Executive Order 01.01.2007.20). "P-20" refers to a system of education that encompasses preschool through graduate studies, and ensures that students from an early age are learning the necessary skills for a competitive workplace.

The Council is to investigate ways to improve education, advance workforce creation, and thereby make the State more competitive in securing and maintaining business and economic development.

Appointed by Governor:
Katherine M. Oliver, Co-Chair
Grant Schmelzer, Co-Chair
Kathleen M. Beauman; Joseph T. Biglin; Valerie J. Brennan; Michelle L. Butt; Peter F. Cevenini; Trudy E. Chara; M. Andy Chaves; Tim A. Corder; Lisa C. Cox; June D. Fordham; Susan T. Gorman; Larry R. Greenhill, Sr.; Joe A. Hairston, Ed.D.; Jeffrey L. Hargrave; Theresa W. Hollander; Dean R. Kendall; Victoria Lee; Marjorie R. Lohnes; Kevin E. Lowndes; George Mayo VI; Lynn M. Patterson; Mary Etta Reedy; Anne Spence; Theresa D. Stafford; Jasper L. Wilson; Ralph T. Wolfe; Anthony Wong; Holly A. Woodward.

In October 2008, the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland established the Career and Technology Education Task Force.

Appointed by Governor:
Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., Co-Chair
James E. Lyons, Sr., Ph.D., Co-Chair

Guy Altieri, Ed.D.; Kathryn A. Barbour; Mickey L. Birnum, Ph.D.; Ann N. Bonitatibus; Joann A. Boughman, Ph.D.; Joan Carter Conway; Norman H. Conway; Deborah J. Cruise, Ph.D.; Ulysses Currie; Mary Kay Finan, Ed.D.; Gino J. Gemignani, Jr.; Barbara A. Gill; Joe A. Hairston, Ed.D.; Christine Handy-Collins, Ed.D.; Elliot L. Hirschman, Ph.D.; Sheila E. Hixson; Daryl E. Kennedy; William E. Kirwan, Ph.D.; Karen Neal; T. Joan Robinson, Ph.D.; Linda T. Wise.

The College Success Task Force began meeting in May 2009. The Task Force is to examine Maryland educational policies and practices concerned with students being prepared for and succeeding in college. Specifically, the Task Force will identify gaps between high school graduation requirements and college entrance expectations, particularly in reading, writing, and mathematics. Further, the Task Force will identify national benchmark educational achievement standards, and, based on those benchmarks, recommend changes to current standards and policies to ensure successful transitions from high school to college. In December 2009, the Task Force will report to the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland.

Appointed by Governor:
Mary A. Carey, Co-Chair
Elizabeth M. Morgan, Ph.D., Co-Chair
Mita Badshah; Diane S. Bragdon; Betty Ann Clark; Lawrence H. Cohen; Jan H. Conway; Gerald R. DeGrange; Anissa K. Brown Dennis; Judy R. Docca; Deborah S. Drown; Albert P. DuPont II, Ed.D.; Colleen Eisenbeiser; Maha Fadli; James V. Foran, Ed.D.; Hope R. Harrington; Theodore Haynie; Lorenzo L. Hughes; R. Owen Johnson, Jr.; Christopher W. Lloyd; Patrick S. McCusker; Karen W. N'Dour; Janet Pauls; George W. Reid, Ph.D.; James E. Richmond; Eugene L. Streagle, Jr.; Wayne D. Thibeault; Ronald S. Thomas, Ph.D.

In October 2008, the Principals Task Force was established by the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland.

Appointed by Governor:
William E. Kirwan, Ph.D., Co-Chair
June E. Streckfus, Co-Chair
Stephen A. Barkanic; David S. Byer; Kenneth C. Carter, Ph.D.; Donna Clem; Rafael Correa; Robert Dawson; Eugene M. DeLoatch, Ph.D.; Linda Eberhardt; Clarissa Evans; Nariman Favardin, Ph.D.; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D.; Stephanie C. Hill; Kristina M. Johnson, Ph.D.; Michael J. Martirano, Ed.D.; Warren Mullins; Gregg Newby; Anita O'Neill; Judith C. Oleks, Ed.D.; Dennis A. Pataniczek, Ph.D.; Darnell Peaker; James F. Pitts; Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, M.D.; Rizwan A. Siddiqi; Susan K. Stewart; Donald Thomas.

Under the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland, the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Task Force formed in 2008.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 17, 2009 Maryland State Archives