Maryland Manual On-Line -


Suzan Swanton, Executive Director

[photo, Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, Maryland] c/o Drug & Alcohol Abuse Administration, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, MD 21228
(410) 402-8636; fax: (410) 402-8604

Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, Maryland, April 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Chair (chosen by Governor): John M. Colmers, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene

Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Teresa Chapa, Ph.D.; Carlos Hardy; Rebecca R. Hogamier; Bobby Houston, Jr.; Kim M. Kennedy; Kathleen O. O'Brien, Ph.D.; Glen E. Plutschak; Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D. Terms expire 2011.

Appointed by Governor upon nomination by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: George M. Lipman; J. Michael Wachs. Terms expire 2011.

Appointed by Senate President: Catherine E. Pugh

Appointed by House Speaker: Kirill Reznik

Ex officio: T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget & Management; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools; John M. Colmers, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Raymond A. Skinner, Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Kevin M. McGuire, designee of Secretary of Human Resources; Donald W. DeVore, Secretary of Juvenile Services; Gary D. Maynard, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Beverley K. Swaim-Staley, Acting Secretary of Transportation; Rosemary King Johnston, Executive Director, Governor's Office for Children; Kristen M. Mahoney, Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention.

Nonvoting members: Kathleen Rebbert-Franklin, Acting Director, Alcohol & Drug Abuse Administration, and Brian M. Hepburn, M.D., Executive Director, Mental Hygiene Administration, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene; Patrick G. McGee, Director, Division of Parole & Probation, and Richard B. Rosenblatt, Esq., Assistant Secretary for Treatment Services, Dept. of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Gale Saler, President, Maryland Addiction Directors' Council.

Annual Report to Governor.

Two-Year Plan to Governor due Aug. 1, 2009 & annual update due Aug. 1 thereafter.

In July 2004, the Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council was authorized by the Governor (Executive Order 01.01.2004.42), and in July 2008, the Council was reconstituted (Executive Order 01.01.2008.08). To ensure that available resources are used most effectively, the Council is to identify, develop, and recommend systemic improvements in the organization and delivery of drug and alcohol abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment. It will assist local drug and alcohol abuse councils through technical assistance and improved communication and collaboration.

Annually, the Council will survey federal and State resources for funding. The Council also will work to facilitate access to existing programs by the courts and criminal justice and correctional systems.

In September 2005, the Council submitted the first two-year Plan to the Governor that establishes priorities and strategies to deliver and fund drug and alcohol abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment services.

Of the Council's twenty-two voting members, ten are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate President and House Speaker, and ten serve ex officio. Five nonvoting, ex officio members also serve on the Council.

In January 2009, the Council established three work groups, and in February 2009, the Prevention of Underage Drinking Coordinating Council was created.

Defunct Units

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 16, 2009 Maryland State Archives