Maryland Manual On-Line -


Allan S. Hance, Executive Director

60 West St., Suite 405, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-2941; fax: (410) 269-0387

[photo, 60 West St. entrance, Annapolis, Maryland]

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms:
Paul J. Allen, Chair (chosen by Board in May, 1-year term), 2011

Torrey C. Brown, M.D., 2009; John M. Gambrill, Esq., 2009; John P. Hollerbach, 2009; Margaret Palmer, Ph.D., 2009; Terence F. Smith, 2009; Russell B. Brinsfield, Ph.D., 2011; Peter G. Byrnes, 2011; W. Warren Hamel, Esq., 2011; Scot T. Spencer, 2011; Stuart A. Clarke, 2012; Valerie Ervin, 2012; Tara E. Potter, 2012; Lise C. Van Susteren, M.D., 2012.

Ex officio: Louise Lawrence, designee of Secretary of Agriculture; Virginia F. Kearney, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Torrey C. Brown, M.D., designee of Secretary of Natural Resources; John C. Astle, designee of Senate President; Virginia P. Clagett, designee of House Speaker.

60 West St. entrance, Annapolis, Maryland, October 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly (Chapter 789, Acts of 1985).

The Chesapeake Bay Trust was created as a nonprofit organization by the General Assembly in 1985 (Chapter 789, Acts of 1985). The Trust's mandate is to promote public awareness and participation in restoring and protecting the water quality and the aquatic and land resources of Chesapeake Bay.

To accomplish its mission, the Trust seeks contributions from the business community and private citizens which it distributes to groups undertaking projects to help the Bay. Grant recipients are nonprofit organizations, civic and community groups, schools, and local public agencies that have conducted stream cleanups, tree and marsh grass plantings, erosion control projects, water quality studies, and habitat restorations. The Trust also has supported enhancement of environmental education centers and development of educational materials to inform people of all ages about the Bay.

In addition to grants from businesses and private citizens, the Trust receives the proceeds from sales of the commemorative Chesapeake Bay license plate. Voluntary donations to the Chesapeake Bay and Endangered Species Fund, via the tax check-off on the Maryland State income tax return (line 37), also support the Trust. The tax check-off, created in 1989, enables Marylanders to contribute for Bay cleanup and programs that aid endangered species.

Although established as an instrumentality of the State, the Trust operates with independent financial and policy-making status. It is not subject to the legislative appropriation process and receives no public tax dollars.


The Chesapeake Bay Trust is governed by a nineteen-member Board of Trustees. The Governor appoints fourteen of its members to four-year terms. Five members serve ex officio (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 8-1901 through 8-1910).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2009

July 1, 2009   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

The use of any username and password on our site is for personal and educational purposes only, and constitutes agreement to abide by any and all copyright restrictions. In most instances the username aaco and password aaco# will work. Contact if you have any questions or have difficulty accessing files.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 03, 2008 Maryland State Archives